California enacted new employment laws that may affect the day-to-day operations of your businesses in 2017 and beyond.
Employers will need to be aware of significant changes in key areas, such as the state minimum wage. California’s Senate Bill (SB) 3 is the state minimum wage hike, which will increase the minimum wage over the next several years to $15 an hour. For January 1, 2017, businesses with 26 or more employees must pay a minimum wage of $10.50 per hour, with the rate reaching $15 per hour in 2022. Small businesses with 25 or fewer employees are not required to begin the scheduled increase until 2018.Other new laws make small changes to different parts of existing law or may relate only to specific industries.
Unless specified, all new legislation goes into effect on January 1, 2017. This year, many bills feature delayed or phased-in implementation.
Take advantage of your member benefits and click HERE to read more, or contact our offices at 916-925-7390 with your specific HR questions. We’re here to help!